Big Update pt 1 – weight & running

So far this summer, we’ve camped at Shenandoah National Park, spent a few days at a nearby state park, enjoyed a week in Disney World, camped at Niagara Falls, and introduced little man to white water rafting while camping with some old friend at a Pennsylvania state park.

We’ve not been home for more than 5 days at a stretch, but that changes this week! We are home for a whole 8 days!

I’ll post more about our travels tomorrow. For today, I want to focus on my weight and running. There is big news on both fronts!

Sadly, the big news about my weight is that the number is, well… BIG! When we got home from this last trip, I stepped on the scale and saw “166” lbs!! EEEAAACCCKKKK!!!! My weight has been up and down as we’ve traveled, but it’s never been higher than 162-ish. 166 scares the crap out of me! Last fall, I’d been as low as 152-ish, so this is almost a 15 lb gain. That’s not small potatoes, and I’m feeling it. My clothes are tight, my running is slow, and I feel fat.

I’ve committed to tracking every bite for the 8 days we are home, but tracking while traveling is tough, and we have a lot more traveling to do this summer! I honestly don’t have a great plan about the weight gain right now. I know I need to get it under control, but my current focus is elsewhere. For now, I’m going to try to make better choices, track for the next 8 days, and hope for the best. Ugh!

Thankfully, the big news about my running is more positive. My mileage is up – WAY up! I’m hitting about 25 miles/ week most weeks, now. They aren’t fast miles, but I’m doing them, and they feel good! Right now, my long runs are 7 or 8 miles, but I’m running 4-6 days a week. Sometimes (like today) my run is just 2 miles. July 2017 runs

I’ve also started using a paper journal to track my runs, in addition to Smashrun. When we camp, I don’t have internet to upload my runs, and my watch only stores 5 activities. The paper journal makes a nice back-up to ensure I have my data even if my watch loses it. Then I can manually enter it on Smashrun.

My next half marathon is October 1st, so I’m still very early in the training. I really want to at least get close to 2:10 (under 10 min/mile), but unless I can drop these 15 lbs, that will continue to be a pipe dream. Again, we’ll see what happens.

While the heat of summer does suck, I have a bit of an advantage where I live. Since we are up in the mountains, in the middle of nowhere, it cools down every night (at least into the lower 60’s), and it usually takes a few hours to warm up. I’m finding that the heat is manageable, so long as I’m done with my run around 10 am or so. Running while camping is also nice, since I get to explore new places. Since we’ve mostly traveled north, the temps haven’t been too bad.

One thought on “Big Update pt 1 – weight & running

Leave a Reply

